top of page


Advancement is the process in which Cub Scouts earn badges and awards, learning new skills and expanding their horizons as they go.  The Cub Scout advancement program is based on adventures, which are themed collections of activities.  Many of these activities will be done as a group, with the den or with the whole pack.  Other activities are meant to be done at home as a family.   The activities built into the adventures include sports, games, field trips, service projects, crafts, and leadership challenges.  All of these are designed to achieve Scouting’s aims: character development, citizenship training, and personal fitness.  As a boy/girl progresses through the Cub Scout ranks, the activities become more challenging to match their increasing skills and abilities.  

Lion Cubs - Pilot Program in Select Packs

The Lion Cub program is for a kindergarten boy/girl and his/her adult partner, who participate as a team.  A Lion Cub must complete 5 adventures to earn the Lion Cub badge.  At the end of the year, they will transition to Tiger, earn their Bobcat badge, and continue through Cub Scouting.

Please reload

The Bobcat badge is the first badge earned by any new Cub Scout. Once they earns the Bobcat badge, they will begin working on a rank-specific badge, as you can see here.  Each of these badges requires that the boy/girl earn the Cyber Chip award (internet safety) and complete the youth protection safety pamphlet activities with his parent.


Tigers are boys/girls in first grade who participate with an adult partner.  The orange Tiger neckerchief stands for curiosity and courage, and represents the beginning flame of Scouting.  An orange flame is not yet hot, but has just started and has huge potential. Tigers who complete adventures earn metal adventure loops to wear on their belts.  Your son/daughter must complete 6 required adventures plus at least 1 elective adventure to earn the Tiger badge.  A few of the required adventures are Games Tigers Play (games), Tiger Bites (nutrition), and Backyard Jungle (hiking).


Wolves have completed first grade.  The yellow Wolf neckerchief stands for warm sunlight, happiness and good cheer and shows that the flame of Scouting is burning bright as your son/daughter learns more Scout skills.  Wolves also earn adventure loops for completed adventures.  To earn the Wolf badge, 6 required and at least 1 elective adventure must be completed.  Some of the required adventures are Council Fire (citizenship), Call of the Wild (camping), and Howling at the Moon (performing).


Bears have completed second grade.  The blue Bear neckerchief stands for truth, loyalty, and obedience.  Just as a blue flame is very hot, the Scouting spirit burns hotly in these growing boys.  Bears also earn adventure loops for completed adventures.  A boy/girl must finish 6 required and at least 1 elective adventure to earn the Bear badge.  Some of the required adventures are Bear Claws (pocketknife safety), Baloo the Builder (wood working), and Fur, Feathers, and Ferns (ecology).


Webelos have completed third grade.  The plaid in the Webelos neckerchief mixes four colors:  the blue & gold of Cub Scouts and the red & green of Scouts BSA.  It is more like fireworks than a flame. These boys/girls are exploding with skills, spirit, and energy.   Webelos earn adventure pins for completed adventures.  These are worn on colorful ribbons on the uniform sleeve.  A boy/girl must complete 5 required and at least 1 elective adventure to earn the Webelos badge.  Some of the required adventures include Cast Iron Chef (cooking), First Responder (first aid), and Stronger, Faster, Higher (physical fitness)

Arrow of Light

In the second year of the Webelos program, boys/girls earn Cub Scouting’s highest award, the Arrow of Light.  For this badge, 4 required and at least 1 elective adventure must be completed.  Some of the required adventures include Outdoorman (camping), Duty to God in Action (reverence), and Scouting Adventure (preparing for Scouts BSA).

Please reload

bottom of page